New Year, New Me (Or Something Like That)

new-image-wallpaper-20

MERRY CHRISTMAS!

I hope you all had the best Christmas you possibly could and spent the time surrounded by friends and family (and too much food)

I was quite excited about Christmas this year, it was our first Christmas as Mrs & Mrs and the first year that we would spend the whole day together rather than having the morning together at home and then going our separate ways for the rest of the day. I was super pleased with the presents I’d bought, the plans we had, it was going to be great. Yet, the best-laid plans of mice and men often go awry and never has this been truer of our life than this Christmas. Sarah ended up spending her Christmas Eve having her appendix taken out and I spent it in a state. For all, rationally, I knew that it was straightforward surgery I was an absolute mess from the minute she was admitted until she came home. Luckily she was discharged on Christmas morning but nothing makes you appreciate the little things more than spending any time over Christmas in a hospital. It’s safe to say it’s been an odd one but just having Sarah home for some of the day improved things.

15747865_10154247255815875_8076339858519687245_n

So Christmas is done for another year and tomorrow is New Years Eve. Having worked in clubs for a few years and seeing in the New Year at work I have very little appreciation for spending New Year out and about. Until this year Sarah has been working New Years Eve  so I’ve happily spent it home, marathoning Harry Potter and generally asleep before midnight. This year is going to be different, not only is Sarah home for the night but my brother and his girlfriend are up from Suffolk, I’m just hoping that no one is expecting a big party!

Now I’m pretty sure I’m not the only person in the world who will be pleased to see the end of 2016, between Brexit, Trump, all the dead celebs and all of the shit that has gone on across the globe it’s safe to say that 2016 has been no ones favorite. On a personal level 2016 has been a year of mixed emotions, there are so many reasons why I’ll be pleased to see the back of this year but I also can’t forget that it’s also the year that we got married and that is something I would never change. It’s no surprise that six pictures out of my Instagram bestnine are from the  wedding or the reception and I will treasure those positive memories.

With a new year comes the same question ‘what are your new years resolutions?’ Now I know that a lot of people buy into the whole new year, new start thing and if they can get success out of that then good for them but for me, it just doesn’t work. I don’t really understand the concept of waiting for the year to change to make a change in your life and I know that, no matter how good my intentions, if I start something in January because I think I have to, I just wont see it through. So I don’t have a list of resolutions or promises for you, I do have intentions for the year but they are no different to the intentions I’ve had for most of this year. My only hope is that the new year is an improvement on last year and that the people I care about stay happy and healthy.

Whatever you are doing for New Year stay happy and stay safe and I’ll be back in 2017 with some new content and more insights into our #bigfatlesbianlife!

Leave a Reply

